The smells and sounds of summer

On his blog this morning, Clive Chapman mentioned the smells on his way into work. This made me think about what I can smell as I ride in each day. I guess you get so used to it you dont notice anymore. I can sometimes smell Nestles factory if the wind is in the right direction, or pigs if its not. Its not really the pigs its what they deposit on the ground, for some reason the farmers around here like to share the smell with us all by spreading it liberally on the fields. Sometimes as I ride home I get a wiff of the chipshop. I  think fish and chips always smell better than they taste. The one smell Clive mentioned which I wasn’t expecting to smell just yet was cut grass. Well its a nice day here in York so we have the office windows open, and the gardener at work is cutting the grass! It will probably snow tomorrow.

About robin1953

Hi I am a 57 year old man living in York, with my wife Jill. We have three grown up childred, and two grand children, Tim and Noah. I've been cycling all my life, but I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes a few years back, so the cycling became more important. I did well for a few years, but slowly the weight went up. Update; how time flys, I'm now 60 still battling the weight but still riding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

