Light mornings lighter nights

I haven’t blogged for a few weeks, I seem to have been very busy. Spent a week in France for work at our new assemble plant. That was fun, but missed a weeks cycling. The guy I went with is a keen cyclist, and suggested we take the bikes, but it got too complicated for the Eurostar at short notice so we didn’t. In the end it was probably for the best Lille and its surrounding area is fine but not really suited to cycling. Clive Chapman put me onto a site 30 days in April, where you sign up to ride every day for a month. Great idea, so I signed up. Now I may have to go back to France for another week in April. I have started training for the London to Paris, rides home on a night are now over longer routes, to increase the mileage. Also my sponsorship is going well which is encouraging. I set myself a target of £1500 and I am now upto £450. I had a very pleasant ride into work today, a slight tail wind and The Average White Band, a resent purchase from Itunes. Takes me back.

About robin1953

Hi I am a 57 year old man living in York, with my wife Jill. We have three grown up childred, and two grand children, Tim and Noah. I've been cycling all my life, but I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes a few years back, so the cycling became more important. I did well for a few years, but slowly the weight went up. Update; how time flys, I'm now 60 still battling the weight but still riding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Light mornings lighter nights

  1. I’m thinking of throwing my bike in the boot for a work trip to Dunfermline next week. It’s only 1 evening but a blast on the bike seems more fun than a lonely steak and a pint in my room.

    I’m going to promote the April thing via the #Mar100 crowd and although I know I’m not going to be riding every day, I’ll try to pick my miles up as much as I can.

    Very good news on the sponsorship front! I’m only £100-odd quid into my £500 target but I’m hoping a couple of sponsored rides will help. Keep it up! (and post a link when you mention it on here ha ha).

    • robin1953 says:

      Hi Phill good to hear from you. I would like to add a link to my web giving site, but am unable to figure it out. Its like the blog roll, I have followed the instructions I just cant get it to appear on the front page. When I look at other WordPress sites they look more impressive than mine.

Leave a Reply

