Click in click out

I ride with SPD pedals on all my bikes. Never managed to get on with road pedals. I always thought it was like trying to ride a bike in ice skates. I guess its what you get used to. However most recently I have had some difficulty clicking out. Which is always of some concern when you get to a junction and cant get your foot out of the pedal. After a closer inpsection I realised my cleats had worn down so much my shoe was catching on the pedal. Things were so worn that I had to drill out the screws on the old cleat to fit new ones. On Saturday it was such a nice day I went out on the new Scott. The ride was really nice, but punctuated with a few stops to make adjustments along the way. My main concern is that I seem to have lost a little confidence in the click in click out fuction. I start to panic as a junction approaches, incase I can’t click out. Its silly really but I’m not sure of it anymore.

Anyway onto the ride itself I went round my normal Sunday morning ride, the roads are quiet with a few hills to get the heart rate up a little. I actually rode the hills reasonably well, but I lacked any real pace on the flat sections. Some of that is lack of fitness and a little is finding a comfortable gear I can spin at a decent pace. It will come. The only other concern is that the ride seems to have shrunk over the winter. On my old bike it was just under 24 miles. On the new one its 23! I need to check the set up of the new computer.

About robin1953

Hi I am a 57 year old man living in York, with my wife Jill. We have three grown up childred, and two grand children, Tim and Noah. I've been cycling all my life, but I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes a few years back, so the cycling became more important. I did well for a few years, but slowly the weight went up. Update; how time flys, I'm now 60 still battling the weight but still riding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Click in click out

  1. I use SPD’s on my hybrid but have Look Keo on my road bike. I have to say I prefer the Look for getting in and out, except for the fact that they dont stay horizontal when you click out of them.
    The SPD’s click action is too tight but I have them on a pair of shoes that I can walk in and the cleat is hidden in the sole of the shoe, which makes them more fleixble when out and about with the family.

  2. I’m a SPD man on my bikes too.

Leave a Reply

