Wimps 1, motivation 0

For some reason my inner wimp won the day this weekend. I had great plans for the weekend on Friday, and in no time it just disapeared. On my ride home from work Friday lunch time, I was planning my afternoon rides route. All was going well when I made the turn towards home, and was hit by a strong headwind. It nearly stopped me dead, and the rest of the ride was a real struggle. Decorating took the place of a ride on Friday, as I found it easy to convince myself it was too windy to cycle. On Saturday my wife Jill dragged me off to town for a new suit, for my son Ben’s wedding. On my return I settled down to watch the Leeds Forest game on TV. Still no ride. By 3pm the wind was up and it was raining. As we were going out on Saturday evening to Leeds, and had to leave at 6.20pm again I persuaded myself it was too late, and too unpleasant to go out for a ride. I had failed the 30 days in April challenge on day two! On Sunday I was playing drums with the band at church, and then going to our daughter Lucy’s for lunch as it was mothers day. I had promised myself when they moved to Wistow two years ago I would ride out there one day. They move to America in five weeks and I still hadn’t done it yet. So I put the bike in the car and rode back at 5pm. It turned out to be a very pleasant ride of 22 miles, taking about 1 1/4  hours. Lets hope I’ve got it out of my system now. Its the problem with ride too much on my own. I need to get my mate Steve out, I need the motivation of having someone rely on you meeting them.

About robin1953

Hi I am a 57 year old man living in York, with my wife Jill. We have three grown up childred, and two grand children, Tim and Noah. I've been cycling all my life, but I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes a few years back, so the cycling became more important. I did well for a few years, but slowly the weight went up. Update; how time flys, I'm now 60 still battling the weight but still riding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wimps 1, motivation 0

  1. I always used to be a group pedaller. Not any more unfortunately, all of my MTBing mates have moved away and I’m left by myself…sniff…

    But, you improvise, adapt and overcome…eventually…

Leave a Reply

