Slightly disapointing ride

Over the last few years I’ve excepted that it takes me longer to get going each spring. I ride all year round, but in the winter months I only ride comuter miles, due to the dark and poor weather. So come spring time its hard work for a few weeks, and then I’m into it. Only thing is its taking longer each year to get to that point. I,m about a month into this years step up in milage and everything was going great last week I felt I was making some progress. On Thursday I even threw in a few big hills to test my fitness. Although they were hard, I was quite please with how I handled them, a little slow but I got there. On Saturday we picked up the boys from Durham and went to Wallington Hall for the day. We had a nice day and it was lovely to have the grandkids for the day. I got up early on Sunday for my regular spring / summer ride. I was out of the house by 7.20am , the first thing I noticed was how under dressed I was. It was cooler than it looked, anyway I was sure it would walm up quickly. When I got into Stensall I checked my time and I was a minute down on my normal ride times. At the second check point I was now two minutes down. At Stillington I normally expect to be there in approximatly forty minutes, it had taken me forty seven. And so the ride went on, by Sherriff Hutton I was now ten minutes behind schedule and struggling to get any consistancy in my pace it just seemed hard. The run back wasnt too bad, and I managed to ensure I didn’t loose anymore time. I pulled into the drive at home in a time of 1hour 50 minutes for a 24 mile ride. My average time for this ride is 1 hour 40 minutes. I was really disapointed, cold and had a stiff back. I don’t know if it was too much time in the car on Saturday, or the hills on Thursday, but I felt like the tank was empty for the entire ride. Right its a fresh week, lets have a new start and hope for a better ride round the circuit next Sunday. They say “some days you eat the bear, some days the bear eats you”!

About robin1953

Hi I am a 57 year old man living in York, with my wife Jill. We have three grown up childred, and two grand children, Tim and Noah. I've been cycling all my life, but I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes a few years back, so the cycling became more important. I did well for a few years, but slowly the weight went up. Update; how time flys, I'm now 60 still battling the weight but still riding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

