Back in the saddle again

I finally got a decent ride in after an on off weekend. Took a days holiday last Tuesday to ride with my new friend Don. He is riding London to Paris and lives not too far away from me. We had a nice day in which I did 57 miles. On Sunday we planned to go to our daughter Amy’s in Selby as she had invited us for tea. I thought this would be a good opportunity to get a longish ride in over to her’s. I cancelled my usual Sunday morning ride with Steve, as I thought I would take the chance to sleep a little later on a Sunday for a change, as I was riding in the afternoon. When I got up at 7.45am it was a lovely day, which was unusual this summer, and I was missing it. Never mind I am riding this afternoon. At lunch time Jill got a text from Amy to say she was unwell and tea was off. Our plans where now changed, Jill went over to take care of Amy, I went to visit her dad in the home where he lives, and we met at Jill’s mums where we spent the rest of the day tidying the garden, as it was such a nice day. So Sunday was over and no ride, I felt I was cheating, by not riding. So the plan was for a long ride on Tuesday as Jill was out. Its been hot here for a few days, and at 3.00pm we had a terrific thunderstorm, it was like a monsoon. It was drying nicely when just before 5.00pm it had anorther go. Was I going to be thwarted again. No decided to set off and see how it went. It looked black a few times, and I cycled through a number of places that had clearly had a lot of rain recently. However I kept dry other than a wet arse from the spray and have very dirty bike. 32 miles thats better!

About robin1953

Hi I am a 57 year old man living in York, with my wife Jill. We have three grown up childred, and two grand children, Tim and Noah. I've been cycling all my life, but I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes a few years back, so the cycling became more important. I did well for a few years, but slowly the weight went up. Update; how time flys, I'm now 60 still battling the weight but still riding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the saddle again

Leave a Reply

