London to Paris

The culmination of all my efforts over the spring and summer will finally come together when I take part in the London to Paris cycle ride in aid of Diabetes UK this weekend. We start on Friday at 7am from Greenwich through Kent to Folkestone, overnight in Dieppe. Then on through the French countryside to Vernon on Saturday. Then finally into Paris on Sunday finishing at the Eiffel tower. I’m really looking forward to the ride and meeting up with my fellow cyclists, most of whom have only been names on an email list. Its just 12 months since I got the e-news letter from Diabetes UK advertising this years ride. At the time a group where away doing last years ride. I’ve been an active cyclist for about 45 years and have in that time done lots of challenges including the C2C with a group from work, a few years back. When I saw this I just knew I had to do it. It was just what I was looking for, without knowing I was actually looking! And it’s for a good cause which I have a vested interest in, having Type 2 Diabetes myself. So I find myself like a dog with two tails, waiting to set off down to London tomorrow. I am sure to have an adventure and some tales to tell when I get back. If I remember, I will take some photographs, in an effort to document the trip. I will then be able to bore people to death with my stories and colour pictures!

About robin1953

Hi I am a 57 year old man living in York, with my wife Jill. We have three grown up childred, and two grand children, Tim and Noah. I've been cycling all my life, but I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes a few years back, so the cycling became more important. I did well for a few years, but slowly the weight went up. Update; how time flys, I'm now 60 still battling the weight but still riding.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

